The 2018 Festival

10 January -
3 February
2018

Festival Calendar >

Welcome to the 2018 edition of LIMF

Come and enjoy our selection of innovative physical and visual theatre from around the world, including three festival co-commissioned works from British companies: Arbonauts, Gandini Juggling and Vamos.

At The Peacock, Jakop Ahlbom’s five star Horror team returns with another movie-inspired masterpiece, Lebensraum, while at the Barbican two large-scale shows from Belgium see the return of 2015 Olivier Award winners, Peeping Tom, and the UK premiere of epic and extraordinary FC Bergman. Elsewhere there’s exquisite object and mechanical theatre from France, 19th century stage magic from Finland, a heartwarming Mexican wedding and, as always, breathtaking new circus-theatre at the start of the year in which we celebrate the 250th anniversary of this artform, pioneered by Phillip Astley in London in 1768.

All this plus a rarely seen silent movie classic with live piano accompaniment, discussions, and workshops in puppetry and physical/visual theatre led by internationally renowned professionals.

Roll up! Book early! Choose from one of the event boxes below or start here >

Helen Lannaghan and Joseph Seelig
Festival Directors

Post Show Discussions

more >
Thu 11 Jan: Kalle Nio / WHS
Friday 12 Jan: Fauna
Sat 13 Jan: Trygve Wakenshaw & Barnie Duncan(4pm perf)
Sat 13 Jan: Cie MPTA
Mon 15 Jan: Gandini Juggling
Wed 17 Jan: Arbonauts
Thu 18 Jan: Bêtes de foire
Fri 19 Jan: Yasmine Hugonnet
Sat 20 Jan: Gabriela Muñoz
Thu 25 Jan: Sacekripa
Fri 26 Jan: Peeping Tom
Sat 27 Jan: l’Insolite Mécanique (3pm perf)
Sat 27 Jan: Nacho Flores
Thu 1 Feb: Jakop Ahlbom
Fri 2 Feb: FC Bergman
Sat 3 Feb: Vamos Theatre (3pm perf)

Circus Theatre

more >
Betes de foire
Compagnie Mpta
Fauna
Gandini Juggling
Jakop Ahlbom
Nacho Flores

Clown/Mask Theatre

more >
Gabriela Muñoz
Trygve Wakenshaw and Barnie Duncan

Physical / Visual Theatre

more >
FC Bergman
Jakop Ahlbom
Peeping Tom
Kalle Nio / WHS
Trygve Wakenshaw & Barnie Duncan

Family Friendly

more >
Betes de foire
Compagnie Mpta
Fauna
Jakop Ahlbom
l’Insolite Mécanique
Nacho Flores

Live Art

more >
Arbonauts
l’Insolite Mécanique
Yasmine Hugonnet

Puppetry / Object Theatre / Illusion

more >
Betes de foire
l’Insolite Mécanique
Nacho Flores
Sacekripa
Vamos Theatre
Kalle Nio / WHS

Workshops

more >
THEATRE RE The Moving Reverie Led by Guillaume Pigé
ANGELA DE CASTRO How to be a Stupid
LISPA BERLIN The Poetic Body Led by Thomas Prattki
DIDI HOPKINS The Art of Commedia
NOLA RAE Broaden Your Mime
DOROTHY MAX PRIOR Dance Yourself Stupid
ANGELA DE CASTRO How to be Even More of a Stupid
DAVID GLASS Devised Theatre
LIZ WALKER Manipulate and Play
PAPER CINEMA An introduction to Performing Live Animation